top of page

About Us

Trevor Mitchell from the Ministry of Works and Development initiated formation of the Society which held its inaugural meeting on 7th November 1979. Also at the meeting were Dr Bryan Walford, Bob Gale, Murray Mitchel and Wally Dixon.

To foster the advancement of knowledge relating to the design of timber structures and elements


  • The regular publication of technical papers, including research reports, technical notes, reports on successful design and construction methods, design procedures and sample designs.

  • The dissemination of up to date information relating to design, manufacturing and construction processes and techniques.

  • The promotion of regular seminars both at national and local level.

  • The promotion of research activities.

  • The provision of guidance and assistance in the education and practical training of designers.

  • The promotion of New Zealand Standards to ensure the economic and efficient use of timber buildings and other structures.

From early on TDS was aligned as a technical group of the Institute of Professional Engineers of New Zealand (IPENZ) (now Engineering New Zealand) as many members were engineers, however membership has always been open to other people with an interest in timber design such as architects and scientists.  

House logs

Past Presidents

1978 - 1980

Trevor Mitchell

1981 - 1983

John Webster


Bryan Walford


James Hutchison

1986 - 1987

Bob Gale

1988 - 1990

Andy Buchanan

1991 - 1993

Hank Bier

1994 - 1996

Garry Tonks

1997 - 1998

Spencer Nicholls

1999 - 2002

Bryan Walford

2002 - May 2003

Pat Simperingham

May 2003 - Dec 2006

Ken McIntosh

Dec 2006 - Feb 2007

Andy Buchanan

Feb 2007 - Feb 2010

Hugh Morris

Feb 2010 - Feb 2013

Ross Davison

Feb 2013 - March 2016

Daniel Scheibmair

March 2016 - Feb 2018

David Reid

Feb 2018 - Feb 2021

David Carradine

Feb 2021 - Present

Daniel Moroder

International Conferences hosted

1984 PTEC 1984 Pacific Timber Engineering Conference

1989 PTEC 1989 Pacific Timber Engineering Conference

1999 PTEC 1999 Pacific Timber Engineering Conference

2012 WCTE 2012 World Conference on Timber Engineering

bottom of page